Despite the fact Google Drive is one of the best cloud storage services available, it is also one of the best ways to share files between devices and people.
Uploading files like documents, image files, video files, etc in Google Drive and being able to share them with others via email or a direct link is one of the best ways to share large files with others.
And most of us must be using Google Drive and using this feature to share files with our friends, family members, or co-workers.
Sometimes, people share some unwanted and harmful files with you. In this case, we can do it by blocking them in Google Drive. Yes, it is possible. Now Google Drive allows you to block people to prevent people from sharing unwanted files with you.
What Happens When You Will Block Someone In Google Drive?
Google has rolled out this feature so that you can block someone if you don’t want to get files shares from them. Google Drive allows you to block the person who has sent/share files with you. So, the question is what happens when you will block someone?
When you will block someone;
- They won’t be able to share file with you.
- And you also won’t be able to share files with them, unless you block them first.
- They won’t be able to access any of your files, and you won’t be able to access any of theirs.
In this blog post, I am showing you the complete guide on how you can block people in Google Drive and also how you can unblock them.
How To Block & Unblock People In Google Drive On Computer
Here is a complete guide on both how to block people in google drive & unblock them on a computer. Both of these processes are very easy and can be simply done in few clicks.
Block Who Sent A File
If someone has shared some harmful or inappropriate files with you, and you want to block him/her, follow these steps:
- Open Google Drive on your browser by going to drive.google.com
- On the left side, choose Shared With Me to see all the files that people have shared with you.
- Select the file you want to block.
- Right-click the file and select Block(email address).
- In the new window, Click Block to block the owner of the file.
Unblock The Person/People
If you have accidentally blocked someone in Google Drive and now want to unblock them, follow these steps:
- Open your Google Account by going to https://myaccount.google.com
- On the left side, you will see several options. Click People And Sharing.
- Scroll down a bit and Blocked.
- After clicking Blocked, a list of all the users you have blocked will open.
- Select Remove, next to the person’s name to unblock him/her.
How To Block & Unblock People In Google Drive On Mobile
The process of blocking & unblocking someone in Google Drive using mobile phones is pretty much the same as blocking & unblocking using computer devices.
Block Person In Google Drive
- Open Google Drive app on mobile.
- Go to Shared section.
- Choose the file whose owner you want to block.
- Tap on the Menu(three dots) of the file.
- Tap Block(email address).
- Again tap Block in the new window to block the owner of the file.
Unblock Person In Google Drive
- Open your Google Account either by tapping your profile picture on the top right of Drive app & going to Manage Your Account or by going to https://myaccount.google.com.
- Go to People And Sharing.
- Tap on Blocked option.
- A list of all the users you have blocked accross all Google products will appear.
- Choose the person you want to unblock. Select Remove, next to the person’s name to unblock him.
Google has recently rolled out this feature in which you can block people to prevent you from sharing unwanted, inappropriate, and harmful files with you. Personally, I think this is one of the best updates of the features that Google Drive has got in recent times. I hope after reading this post, you get to know how you can block people in Google Drive and how you can unblock them in Google Drive. If you find this post useful and informative, then share it with others. And if you have any queries related to this post, then let me know in the comment box.